God has given you His Word. Think about that for a minute. God has given you His Word.

Our elders speak of a day when people would keep their word. It used to be common to say, “A man is only as good as his word.”

In the 21st century, we are conditioned to think that a man is only as good as his last act. “What have you done for me lately?” is more the prevailing philosophy. Forget what I promised you yesterday if you have not gone out of your way for me today.

Inflation has caused the devaluation of the currency of our words. More words but not as much value. Your word is not as valuable as it used to be. Your word can only take you so far before you have to put pen to paper or money in hand to back up your word.

For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. – Hebrews 4:12

God’s Word, though, is still powerful! His Word remains no matter the century or the prevailing philosophy of the day. His Word is as strong today as it was when He said, “Let there be…” His Word created us and His Word sustains us.

Recently, I have read some passages in God’s Word that have impacted me. God’s Word is not limited by country, language, culture, or any of the other things that seem to divide us. God’s Word is relevant to every culture. The name of Jesus can be spoken in any language, over any soul!

Last night I preached at a beautiful church in Bucharest from Ephesians 2 about how we are chosen to be citizens of the household of God. His love for us is so great that He has given us the opportunity to walk as a victorious child of God.

But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us. Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;) – Ephesians 2:4-5

Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellowcitizens with the saints, and of the household of God; And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone; In whom all the building fitly framed together groweth unto an holy temple in the Lord: In whom ye also are builded together for an habitation of God through the Spirit. – Ephesians 2:19-22

I am so glad I can preach God’s Word and I do not have to worry about its value. I know, without a doubt, that God’s Word never comes back with “no funds available.” The check always clears the bank. It always prospers. It always performs. It always pierces the darkness.

For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. – Isaiah 55:10-11

I hope you find as much strength in the Word as I have found this past week.

If you are facing depression, I encourage you to read the Bible. If you are facing a fork in the road, I encourage you to read the Bible. You can never replace God’s Word with a self-help book or a motivational video clip. You can never replace the Words of the Creator with the words of the created. For when man fails to keep his word…

God keeps His Word.

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. – Psalms 119:105

One thought on “God Keeps His Word

Leave a Reply

