Chapter 13 of I Corinthians impacted me this week. The chapter talks about “love” and its importance in our churches. The surrounding chapters also give it context and emphasis.

Chapters 12 & 14 are passages on spiritual gifts. There are 9 Gifts of the Spirit that God has given His church (12:8-10). The church is equipped to succeed.

Chapter 13 illustrates the role that “love” (Greek: agape) plays in the operation of the church. 

I Corinthians 13

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.

And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.

And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.

The Apostolic Study Bible notes on chapter 13 say in part, “This chapter highlights the atmosphere in which spiritual gifts should function – namely, an environment of love.”

God is love (I John 4:8) and nothing can separate us from His love (Romans 8:37-39). We are commanded to follow His example, to love one another (John 15:12).

In verses 4-7, we find some of the attributes of love. This is a short post today, so I want to share these characteristics and leave you to chew on them (“chew on them” is that a Southern saying? lol).

From 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV,

  • Love is patient
  • Love is kind
  • Love is not jealous
  • Love is not boastful
  • Love is not proud
  • Love is not rude
  • Love does not demand its own way
  • Love is not irritable
  • Love does not keep record of being wronged
  • Love does not rejoice about injustice
  • Love rejoices when truth wins out
  • Love never gives up
  • Love never loses faith
  • Love is always hopeful
  • Love endures through every circumstance

Jesus loves you. We love you.

Never give up. Keep the faith. Love never fails.

Leave a Reply

